President’s Health Advisory Council

The President’s Health Advisory Council is composed of a cross section of health care, community, business and education leaders. The council advises the University of La Verne on matters related to health education, and has been instrumental in positioning the Cástulo de la Rocha College of Health and Community Well-Being to address the growing needs and challenges in health and well-being today, as well as the deep complexities within the health care system and socio-economic environment.

Name Position Company
Dr. David Anderson Orthopedic Surgeon Kaiser Permanente
Roger Auerbach President Auerbach Consulting, Inc.
Dr. Dora Barilla GVP, Community Health Development Providence St. Joseph Health
Ed Bjurstrom Vice President Operations Gilead Sciences Inc.
Dr. Linda Bosserman-Piatt Asst Clinical Professor, Oncology City of Hope Medical Group
Jon Brower ’95 Director, Strategic Accounts Covidien
Dr. Kim Burchiel John Raaf Professor, OHSU Department of Neurological Surgery Oregon Health & Sciences University
Dr. Ronald Carter Provost; Professor, Earth and Biological Science, School of Medicine; and Professor, School of Religion Loma Linda University
Randall Castillo CEO St. Mary Medical Center
Tony Chan President ABC Pharmacy Group
Leigh Cornell Government Relations Representative
Vice President, Administration
Pomona Valley Hospital Medical Center
Zoila Escobar ’03, MBA’13 Sr. Vice President, Strategic Development & Community Support; President, AltaMed Foundation AltaMed
Dr. Deborah Freund University Professor Claremont Graduate University
Clemente Gonzalez Director, West Region, Community Relations Aetna
Dr. David Hayes-Bautista Professor of Medicine and Director UCLA-Geffen School of Medicine
Mark Hicks ’90 Owner and President NHC Medical Supply
Thomas Hsieh CEO SplinterRock, Inc.
Dr. David Krasnow ’69 Co-Founder and Director VOSH/California
Dr. James Lally Community Physician, CEO LMG Founder and Veteran Lally Medical Group
Randall Lewis Executive Vice President Lewis Operating Corp
Dr. Pardis Mahdavi President University of La Verne
Linda Lindsey Attorney Lindsey Law Office
Dr. Phil Loverso President and CEO Casa Colina Hospital &

Center for Health Care

Margarita Luna Program Manager The California Endowment
Jarrod McNaughton ’00 Chief Operating Officer Inland Empire Health Plan
Julie Miller-Phipps ’89 President, Southern California Region Kaiser Foundation
Dr. Lisa W. Phillips Physician Loma Linda VA Healthcare System
Victoria PonTell
Leslie Porras ’93, ’00 Public Relations Director, West  Region Anthem, Inc.
Deborah Proctor President and CEO (former) St. Joseph Health System
Dr. John Raffoul ’02 President and CEO White Memorial Hospital
Dr. Judith Reichman Physician Cedar-Sinai Medical Center
Dr. Steve Rosen Provost and Chief Scientific Officer City of Hope Medical Group
Robert Sallis Co-Director, Sports Medicine Fellowship Kaiser Permanente
Katie Skelton Chief Nursing Officer St. Joseph Hospital
Gayle Tang Health Equity and Integration Consultant City College of San Francisco
Donna Townsend Vice President, Cardiovascular, Pulmonary & Perioperative (ICC) Services Citrus Valley Health Partners
Richard Yochum President and CEO Pomona Valley Hospital Medical Center